Compare··8 min read

Boring Notch vs NotchNook: Free GPL App vs $25 Widget Hub

boring.notch is free, open source under GPL-3.0 and asks for macOS 14 Sonoma; NotchNook is $25 one-time or $3 a month, asks for macOS 14.6, and adds a widget board, a files shelf and a webcam mirror. Take the free one if music, calendar and HUD replacement are the whole job, and pay for NotchNook if you want the notch to hold widgets and staged files.

By Deepak Yadav, building NotchBay

#What each app actually is

Both apps paint into the same strip of screen: the band around the MacBook camera cutout that macOS otherwise leaves empty. Neither is an Apple feature, because Apple has never shipped a Dynamic Island on the Mac; the whole category and which Macs qualify for it are mapped in the Dynamic Island for Mac guide. What separates these two is not the surface. It is the business model underneath and the bet each one places on what the notch is for.

boring.notch is the free one, published under GPL-3.0 by a group that signs its work TheBoredTeam and develops it in the open. Its feature list is tight on purpose: a music control center with a live audio visualizer, calendar integration, a full replacement for the macOS volume and brightness overlays, and a file shelf you can drop things onto and AirDrop back out. It runs on macOS 14 Sonoma or later. Setup and the Gatekeeper detour are covered in the Boring Notch on Mac walkthrough.

NotchNook, from lo.cafe, is the paid one, and its bet is the notch as a small second Control Center. Pull the panel down and there is a media view, a widget board holding calendar, Shortcuts, notes, timers and to-do lists, a webcam mirror, a battery readout for connected devices, live actions, and a customization layer its own page describes as a thousand options. Under all of it sits the files shelf. The longer walkthrough is in NotchNook for Mac.

One disclosure before the tables, because it changes how you should read them. NotchBay is this site’s own notch app and a direct competitor to both. It appears below only in its limits rows and in two sections about where each of these apps does the job better, and the rest of the page is built from what lo.cafe and the boring.notch project publish about themselves.

#Specs at a glance

Specboring.notchNotchNook
PriceFree, with no paid tier$25 one-time, or $3 a month; also carried in Setapp
LicenseGPL-3.0, source public and forkableCommercial, closed source. One-time license covers 5 devices, the subscription covers 2
Minimum macOS14 Sonoma14.6
Try before you buyThe app itself: download it and keep it15-day refund window, or a Setapp subscription
Mac without a notchNot stated by the projectTurns into a handler with the same functions; multiple monitors supported
InstallDMG from the project’s own releases page, or brew install --cask TheBoredTeam/boring-notch/boring-notchDirect download from lo.cafe, Setapp, or brew install --cask notchnook
First launchBuilds are not signed with an Apple Developer ID, so macOS blocks the first open until you allow it by handNo override step described on its page
NotchBay’s own limitsmacOS 26 (Tahoe) only; designed for a notched MacBook and a small floating pill anywhere else; 60-clip clipboard tray plus pins, not an archive; Accessibility permission required for call controls; Google Meet through a Chromium browser, not Safari; Full Disk Access for message mirroring; closed source and not on the Mac App Store

boring.notch and NotchNook values as published on their own pages and read on 5 Sep 2026, with NotchNook’s license and version detail from the Homebrew cask registry on 18 Aug 2026. NotchBay’s limits row is from its shipping 0.2.38 build, 17 Sep 2026. “Not stated” means the vendor does not publish the value, not that the answer is no.

#Feature by feature

The overlap is smaller than the category suggests. Both do music and files. After that they diverge almost completely, and the two rows at the bottom are the ones most people are actually shopping for.

Dimensionboring.notchNotchNook
Now playing✓ music control center with a visualizer✓ media view with playback controls
Calendar✓ calendar integration✓ as one of the widgets
Volume and brightness HUD✓ full macOS HUD replacementnot listed
Files shelf✓ drop zone with AirDrop✓ drop a file in, drag it back out
Widget boardnot listed✓ Shortcuts, notes, timers, to-do lists
Webcam mirrornot listed✓
Bluetooth batterya roadmap item, not a shipped feature✓ battery display for connected devices
Gesturesnot listed✓ scroll and swipe
Customisation depthunbounded in principle: read the source, patch it, ship a forka settings layer its page calls a thousand options
Zoom and Meet call controlsnot listednot listed
Clipboard historynot listed (the shelf holds files you drop)not listed
Dictationnot listednot listed
NotchBay’s own limitsmacOS 26 only; notched MacBook only, with a floating pill elsewhere; the tray holds 60 clips plus pinned ones; call controls need the Accessibility permission; Meet works in Chrome, Brave and other Chromium browsers but not Safari

Compiled from each project’s own feature list, read 5 Sep 2026. “Not listed” means the feature is absent from the vendor’s page, which is a scope decision rather than proof the app cannot do it. Both ship updates often, so check a row that decides it for you.

Read the bottom three rows together and a pattern falls out: the free app and the $25 app agree on where the category stops. Neither claims to drive a video call, keep a searchable history of what you copy, or transcribe speech. Those are the permission-heavy jobs, the ones that need Accessibility or Full Disk Access and have to keep working after another vendor redraws a toolbar, and they are where paid notch apps that charge more than $25 spend their engineering. If a searchable copy history is the feature you came for, what macOS itself keeps and discards is in Mac clipboard history.

#The macOS floor decides it first

Check this before any feature grid, because it rules options out faster than anything else. boring.notch asks for macOS 14 Sonoma or later. NotchNook asks for 14.6. On a machine still on Sonoma 14.0 through 14.5, that half-point gap is the entire comparison: the free app installs and the paid one does not.

The practical spread in this category is wide. boring.notch starts at macOS 14, NotchNook at 14.6, and NotchBay at macOS 26, which is three major releases of distance between the cheapest option and the strictest one.

That last number is worth stating plainly rather than burying: NotchBay requires macOS 26 (Tahoe) and has no fallback for anything earlier, so on an older Mac it is not a candidate at all and these two are the live options. If the upgrade is itself the open question, check the model against Apple's macOS Tahoe compatibility list before anything else.

Hardware is the second filter, and here NotchNook is unusually explicit. Its page states that on a screen without a cutout the app turns into a handler with the same functions, and that multiple monitors are supported. The boring.notch project does not publish a non-notch behaviour, so treat it as notch-first until the project says otherwise. If most of the working day happens docked to an external display with the lid shut, that single difference matters more than any feature row above it.

#What the $25 actually buys

Not polish, whatever the screenshots imply. Free notch apps in this category are not crippled demos, and boring.notch is the proof: live activities and HUD redrawing are cheap enough to build that the free tier finishes them. On the volume and brightness overlays it wins the row outright, because NotchNook’s page does not list a HUD replacement at all.

What $25 buys is breadth and maintenance. The widget board, the webcam mirror, the gesture layer and the settings depth are each small on their own and add up to a surface the free app does not attempt. Behind them is a vendor: a license that covers 5 devices, a 15-day refund window, a Setapp listing for people who already pay for that bundle, and an email address that belongs to somebody whose job it is to answer. An open project run by volunteers fixes things when a contributor has an evening free, which is a genuine advantage for auditing and a genuine constraint on turnaround.

The subscription deserves its own line. $3 a month passes $25 after nine months, so it only makes sense as a short audition or as part of Setapp, where NotchNook is one app among many you are already paying for. For a tool meant to run permanently in the menu bar, the one-time price is the sane default.

#Installing either one

Both ship Homebrew casks, which is the cheapest way to audition an app and remove it an hour later without leaving anything behind:

# free, open source
brew install --cask TheBoredTeam/boring-notch/boring-notch

# paid, license required after install
brew install --cask notchnook

Downloading by hand works too, with one asymmetry. boring.notch builds are not signed with an Apple Developer ID, so macOS blocks the first open with a message about an unidentified developer. The fix is four steps: try to launch it once so macOS registers the attempt, open System Settings, go to Privacy & Security, and click Open Anyway. The button only appears after a blocked launch, which is why people who skip step one conclude it is missing. That prompt is about notarization rather than intent, a distinction worked through in is Boring Notch safe.

Whichever you install, grant permissions one at a time as you switch features on rather than approving a list up front. Skipping a permission costs you exactly the feature that needs it, and nothing else.

#Where boring.notch beats NotchBay

Four specifics, all of them structural rather than cosmetic:

  • Price. It is free and has no paid tier. NotchBay has no free tier and no self-serve trial at all: the app demonstrates itself once during onboarding and then asks for the sale, with a 14-day money-back guarantee instead of a download-and-try path.
  • Auditable source. GPL-3.0 means the code is readable, forkable and patchable by anyone who disagrees with a decision. NotchBay is closed source, so if reading the code is your bar for installing a background app, this comparison ends here.
  • It runs on your Mac today. macOS 14 Sonoma against macOS 26 Tahoe. Any machine that cannot take Tahoe, or any person who simply has not upgraded, can run boring.notch this afternoon.
  • No license to manage. No key, no device count, no purchase. Install it, delete it, reinstall it on another Mac, with nothing to transfer.

The wider set of free options, and the four reasons people go looking for one, are laid out in boring notch alternatives.

#Where NotchNook beats NotchBay

Also four, and the first two are not close:

  • Macs without a notch. NotchNook’s page states it becomes a handler with the same functions on a screen with no cutout, and that multiple monitors are supported. NotchBay falls back to a small floating pill at the top edge instead, which carries the same features but is a fallback rather than a designed-for case.
  • The macOS floor. 14.6 against 26. NotchNook covers Sonoma, Sequoia and Tahoe machines; NotchBay requires macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later, with nothing earlier supported.
  • Widgets and the webcam mirror. Shortcuts, notes, timers, to-do lists and a camera preview in the panel are NotchNook’s core and are not in NotchBay’s feature list at any price.
  • License terms and distribution. One purchase covers 5 devices, there is a 15-day refund window, and Setapp subscribers get it inside a bundle they already pay for. NotchBay is one purchase for one Mac, direct download only, with no Setapp or Mac App Store route.

The row-by-row version of that argument, written from the other side, is in NotchBay vs NotchNook.

#Frequently asked questions

What are the free alternatives to NotchNook?

boring.notch is the main one: free, GPL-3.0, with music, calendar, HUD replacement and a file shelf. Atoll is free and open source with a deliberately leaner set, Notchy is free and covers music, timers, HUDs and a clipboard with OCR, and TopNotch takes the opposite position by darkening the menu bar band so the cutout disappears. The full list, and when a swap is actually warranted, is in boring notch alternatives.

Is Alcove a better buy than NotchNook?

Different bet rather than a better one. Alcove is the animation and notifications pick, built around fluid transitions, live activities, customizable HUDs and Lock Screen widgets; NotchNook is the widgets and files pick. Alcove is also cheaper at $14.99 one-time, though its page does not state a macOS minimum. The two are compared row by row in Alcove vs NotchNook.

#What this means for the notch

Put these two side by side and the notch stops looking like one product category. boring.notch treats the cutout as a status light that should also control the music, and finishes that job for free. NotchNook treats it as a drawer: widgets, files, a camera preview, a settings page deep enough to rearrange all of it. Neither reaches into other applications, which is why both can stop at $0 and $25 respectively. Strip the branding away and every app in that band is answering the same question, which is what a single glance is worth. These two answer it differently, and both answers are defensible.

Written by the maker of NotchBay, a competing notch app, with every boring.notch and NotchNook detail taken from that project’s own page rather than from testing. If a row has drifted from what a vendor now ships, email hello@thedeepflux.com and it gets corrected.
Deepak YadavCrafting beautiful digital consumer products.

Product designer and indie hacker. Founder of Ossian Design Lab. Builds and ships business and consumer digital products in public.

Follow on X

Look up.
It's all right there.