#The field, in one table
The disclosure most roundups bury goes at the top: NotchBay is this site’s own app. The defense against bias is precision: every cell below is a price, a version floor or a feature read on the vendor's own site or repository on 5 Sep 2026, not an adjective. Every list of the best Dynamic Island apps for Mac is really a list of notch apps, because macOS ships no island of its own: the Dynamic Island for Mac guide explains what these apps actually do before you pick one.
| App | Price | macOS minimum | Open source | Notch required | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NotchBay | $9 once; 14-day money back | 26 | No | Designed for it; floating pill on other screens | Calls, OCR clipboard tray, dictation, HUD |
| Boring Notch | Free | 14 | Yes, GPL-3.0 | not stated | Music visualizer, file shelf, HUD, open code |
| NotchNook | $25 once or $3/month; Setapp | 14.6 | No | No: notchless screens get a handler; multiple monitors | Customization, widgets, files shelf |
| Alcove | $14.99 once | not stated | No | not stated | Minimal, polished live activities |
| DynamicLake | Paid; price on dynamiclake.com | not stated | not stated | not stated | Broad toolkit: notifications, converter, calls, AirDrop, timer |
| Notchy | Free | 13 | No | not stated | Clipboard history, HUDs, lyrics, Pomodoro |
| Atoll | Free | not stated | Yes | not stated | Lean free basics |
Verified 5 Sep 2026 on lo.cafe/notchnook, tryalcove.com, notchy.dev, dynamiclake.com and the boring.notch README; NotchBay from its own release notes. A cell says "not stated" when the site does not give the value.
#Free Dynamic Island apps for Mac
You can do this for nothing, and for a lot of people free is the right answer. Three apps carry the free side of the category.
Boring Notch
Free, open source under GPL-3.0, and the project that proved the category could be free. The README asks for macOS 14 Sonoma or later and lists music controls with a visualizer, calendar integration, a file shelf with AirDrop, and a replacement for the stock volume and brightness HUD. Install from a DMG or with a Homebrew cask. The catch is signing: the developers have no Apple Developer account, so macOS shows a security warning on first launch and you have to allow the app manually. That warning is not proof of danger; what it actually means is unpacked in is boring.notch safe; the head-to-head is NotchBay vs boring.notch.
Notchy
Free in the plain sense: notchy.dev says "no trial, no licence key, no subscription", with donations keeping it that way. It needs macOS 13 Ventura or later, installs with one Homebrew command or a DMG, is built in SwiftUI by an indie developer, and is not open source. For a free app the list is long: now playing with synced lyrics, a clipboard history, quick notes, a Pomodoro timer, volume and brightness HUDs, battery monitoring, a file shelf and OCR. Compared directly in Notchy vs NotchBay.
Atoll
Free and open source, and a smaller project than Boring Notch with a leaner feature set. If Boring Notch feels like more than you want and you mostly care about the iPhone-style basics done cleanly, Atoll is the quieter choice. Same open-source advantage, same advice: download from the source repository and read the release notes.
Where free stops: Boring Notch and Atoll do not ship a searchable clipboard history (Notchy does), and none of the three lists in-call controls for Zoom or Google Meet or on-device dictation. Those are the permission-heavy features paid apps sell.
#Paid Dynamic Island apps for Mac
NotchNook
The most established commercial notch hub, from lo.cafe, and the app most people would get pointed to here if this site did not build a competitor. Its own page promises widgets, live actions, a files shelf and a thousand options, and its expand animation set the bar the category chases. Checked 5 Sep 2026: $25 one-time or $3 a month, also in Setapp; minimum macOS 14.6; the one-time license activates on 5 devices, the subscription on 2; a 15-day refund window; notchless screens get a handler with the same functions, and multiple monitors are supported. Head-to-head in NotchBay vs NotchNook; the wider set of options is in NotchNook alternatives.
Alcove
The strongest argument that less is a feature. $14.99 one-time on tryalcove.com, and the site lists fluid transitions, instant notifications, Live Activities, swipe gestures, customizable HUDs and Lock Screen widgets; it does not state a minimum macOS. Music and battery activities, rendered tastefully, and then it stops: no clipboard tray, no calendar join, no call controls, no dictation on its list. If a clipboard manager living above your menu bar sounds like clutter, Alcove is the one to install and forget. Compared in NotchBay vs Alcove.
DynamicLake
The paid grab bag. Its homepage lists notifications, drag and drop, a converter, calls, AirDrop and a timer, plus a compact "miniLake" mode; the price is on dynamiclake.com; a figure that could not be confirmed on that page is not reprinted here. If your wishlist is many small tools rather than one flagship feature, it covers a lot of ground. It sits in the three-way NotchNook vs Alcove vs DynamicLake.
seam
A newer one-time purchase, listed around $19.90 on getseam.app with a short trial, focused on local voice-to-text, a focus timer in the notch, a calendar, drag-and-drop file zones and HUDs. If dictation plus a visible timer is your core use case, look here before anything broader.
NotchBay
This site’s own app, so discount the enthusiasm accordingly. The pitch is the work layer: music with a live waveform, the next calendar event with one-click join, mute, camera, screen share and leave controls for Zoom and Google Meet (Meet through Chrome, Brave and other Chromium browsers), AirPods and Bluetooth battery on connect with model-accurate device art, the volume and brightness HUD drawn in the notch instead of Apple's overlay, a focus timer, weather for a chosen city, a clipboard tray that keeps the last 60 clips sorted by type with screenshots OCR'd, on-device dictation and transcription through Apple's SpeechAnalyzer, message notifications mirrored with quick reply, per-app skins, a light and a dark island theme, and drop a file on the notch to get a Google Drive link, send it by AirDrop or show a QR code. $9 one-time, with a 14-day money-back guarantee, no subscription, no account, signed and notarized by Apple. Its limits get their own section below.
#Feature by feature
| Feature | NotchBay | Boring Notch | NotchNook | Alcove | Notchy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Now Playing controls | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Calendar + one-click meeting join | ✓ | calendar; join not stated | not listed | not listed | not listed |
| AirPods / battery on connect | ✓ device art | not stated | battery display | ✓ battery | ✓ battery monitoring |
| In-call controls (Zoom, Google Meet) | ✓ mute, camera, share, leave | not listed | not listed | not listed | not listed |
| Clipboard tray with search + OCR | ✓ 60 clips, OCR | file shelf only | files shelf | not listed | ✓ clipboard history; OCR tool |
| On-device dictation into any app | ✓ | not listed | not listed | not listed | not listed |
| Share from the notch | ✓ Drive link, AirDrop, QR | file shelf with AirDrop | not listed | not listed | not listed |
| Volume / brightness HUD replacement | ✓ | ✓ | not listed | ✓ customizable HUDs | ✓ |
| Camera / mic privacy indicators | ✓ | not listed | not listed | not listed | not listed |
| Open source | ✗ | ✓ GPL-3.0 | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
"not listed" means the feature does not appear on that app's site or README as read on 5 Sep 2026; it is not proof the app lacks it. NotchBay's column is its shipping feature list on the same day.
#How this page was put together
Feature rows come from exactly two sources: each vendor's public page or repository, read on the date above, and NotchBay's own shipping build. Where a claim could not be found on the vendor's own page, the cell says so instead of rounding up to a checkmark. There are no affiliate links on this page, and nothing is earned here when you pick a competitor. NotchBay is this site's own app, so read the praise for it with that bias in mind, and where a competitor does something better, the page says so.
#The picks, by need
- Best free: Boring Notch if you want open source and a visualizer; Notchy if you want a clipboard history and HUDs for nothing.
- Best for customization: NotchNook. Widgets, a files shelf and a thousand options; NotchBay does not compete on knobs.
- Most minimal: Alcove (paid) or Atoll (free). NotchBay is the opposite of minimal.
- Best for meetings: NotchBay. Calendar join plus mute, camera, screen share and leave for Zoom and Meet are unique to it on this list.
- Best on an older macOS: Notchy (13), Boring Notch (14) or NotchNook (14.6). NotchBay needs 26 and is out.
- Best for a notchless Mac or a docked setup: NotchNook, which turns a notchless screen into a handler and supports multiple monitors. NotchBay falls back to a floating pill.
- Best open source: Boring Notch. Auditable code is the feature; everything else is a bonus.
Want the wider field beyond the notch? This site keeps a hand-curated Mac apps directory: launchers, menu bar tools, terminals and more. And run only one notch app at a time; two apps fighting for the same pixels is exactly as silly as it sounds.
#NotchBay's limits
Every app here has downsides; NotchBay's get listed in full because this site is the one selling it.
- macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later only. Nothing earlier, no exceptions.
- A notched MacBook for the full experience. On a Mac without a notch or on an external display it runs as a small floating pill; it does not fake a notch.
- The tray holds 60 clips plus pinned ones, not an unlimited archive.
- Call controls need Accessibility permission; message mirroring and Focus status need Full Disk Access.
- Google Meet control works through Chromium browsers (Chrome, Brave, Comet); Safari is not supported yet.
- Not open source, and not on the Mac App Store. Direct download only.
#Apps that hide the notch instead
A MacBook notch app puts the cutout to work; a notch hider makes it disappear, and the two searches get mixed up constantly. TopNotch is the best-known hider: it composites a black band across the top of your wallpaper so the menu bar renders solid black and the cutout melts into it, adding no features on purpose. macOS itself can also letterbox the whole desktop below the camera through a scaled resolution in System Settings, at the cost of the extra menu bar rows. Both methods, and the trade-offs, are in how to hide the MacBook notch. If you want the notch gone rather than useful, none of the apps above is for you.
#Which MacBooks have a notch, and the iPhone question
Notched Macs are the 14- and 16-inch MacBook Pro from 2021 onward and the MacBook Air from the M2 generation in 2022 onward. The cutout measures 220x38 points on the 16-inch and 185x32 points on the 14-inch, about 12.2% of the screen's width; every model is in the measured notch dimensions, and the geometry these apps draw around is documented on the Dynamic Island spec page.
If you searched this phrase holding an iPhone, the island there is Apple's own: it ships with the phone, you cannot install a better one, and the "apps" are ordinary apps feeding it through Live Activities. What you can and cannot change on each platform is in Dynamic Island customization: what works on iPhone and Mac.
#Frequently asked questions
Do notch apps work on MacBooks without a notch?
It depends on the app. On a Mac without a notch or on an external display, the island floats as a small pill at the top edge of the screen with the same features but no cutout to wrap. NotchBay does not fake a notch. NotchNook says a notchless screen turns into a handler with the same functions and that it supports multiple monitors. For the others, check the vendor page before you buy.
Can you run two notch apps together?
Technically yes, practically no: they draw in the same screen region and overlap. Pick one.
What macOS version do these apps need?
As read on each site on 5 Sep 2026: NotchBay macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later, NotchNook macOS 14.6 or later, Boring Notch macOS 14 or later, Notchy macOS 13 or later. Alcove and DynamicLake do not state a minimum on their sites; check the Atoll repository before installing.